Exit Cards

I learned about Exit Cards this summer, when I was taking the Evaluation of Learning course. Exit Cards is a more general assessment method that combines the best of the Minute Paper and the Muddiest Point – and other assessment techniques. Basically it’s an umbrella term for enabling students to spend five minutes, at the end of class, thinking about the lesson and providing feedback to the instructor about what they have learned, or feedback about the teaching, or questions that remain about the lesson, or even a reflection on how they are learning – and what they could do better.

It’s so easy to prepare: simply take an index card, or an 8×11″ sheet of paper, and – before class – write the question to ask the students. One or two questions is sufficient, there’s no need to ask much more than that.

allatonce
Examples of Exit Cards – Vida Morkunas – CC Attribution, Non Commercial, Share Alike

All this to say that I fell in love with the concept, its freedom to setup, the great variety of questions that I could use with my students. Tonight I was busy wrapping up a few of my projects and was stressing out a bit – so I decided let the creative juices flow and create a little infographic about exit cards, hope you like it.

vida-morkunas-exit-cards-pidp3260
Exit Cards – Vida Morkunas – CC Attribution, Non Commercial, Share Alike
Exit Cards

Leave a comment